WA Team bags 17th Interstate Golf Cup

Members of Aussie-Pinoy WA Team receiving their trophy after winning the 17th Interstate Friendship Golf Cup in Manila on Feb 28-Mar 4. In the middle holding the trophy is Nestor Jongko, Team President.

Aussie-Pinoy WA Team of Perth won the 17th Interstate Friendship Golf Cup held in Manila from February 28 to March 4. The seven-member team accumulated 899 points during four days of golf which used the individual stableford scoring system. “The primary mission of Perth WA Team was to enjoy and win the interstate tournament this year. With proper coordination and motivation to enjoy and win, we eventually brought home the bacon,” said the ecstatic Nestor Jongko, WA Team president.

This ended the winning streak of Australasian Golf Club of Melbourne. The club, which has been winning the tournament for the past four years, settled for second runner up this year with 851 points. “The ball is round and we wanted to give chance to other states,” conceded Buddy Espineda, president of the host club, Australasian Golf Club of Melbourne.

First runner up was Fil-Oz Sydney team with 872 points. There was so much excitement as the lead went down to as low as six points on the third day. Fil-Oz team captain Arnold Villamor said, “We tried very hard but could not really score well on the last day. Perhaps we were already tired.”

There were 64 golfers coming from Victoria (30), NSW (21), Western Australia (9) and ACT (4). Queensland, South Australia and NT were unable to send representatives. One tourist bus and one coaster were used to transport the participants coming from Executive Plaza Hotel (on Mabini Street) by 7:00am and onto the golf courses for the scheduled 9:30am tee-off.

Individual daily and over-all winners were awarded trophies as follows:

Fil-Oz Sydney Team receiving their trophy for being runner up at the 17th Interstate Friendship Golf Cup. Holding the trophy is team captain, Arnold Villamayor.

Day One – Eagle Ridge (Aoki) Golf Club:
Winners: Matt Nichols (40 pts) for A Div and Obet Bolina (40 pts) for B Div
Runners up: Dom Ortiz (40 pts) for A Div and Victor Chang (40 pts) for B Div

Day Two – Royal Northwoods Golf Club:
Winners: Boy Espineda (38) for A and Jerry Valmeo (40) for B
Runners up: Leon Briones (37) for A and Nep Palomo (40) for B
Day Three – Tagaytay Midlands Golf Club:
Winners Peter Chua (38) for A and Chris Segui (36) for B
Runners up: Mico Nepo (35) for A and Raul Luna (36) for B

Day Four – Ayala Greenfields Golf Club:
Winners: Ray Ngai (44) for A and Boy Solas (44) for B
Runners up: Boy Abacan (35) for A and Rey Sapitola (32) for B


Individual overall winners Chris Segui (right) of WA Team as Champion and Matt Nichols (left) of ACT as runner up.


Over-all Champion – Chris Segui of WA (148 points for four days)
Over-all Runner up – Matt Nichols of ACT (143 points for four days)

The presentation of awards was held over dinner at the Ayala Greenfields Golf Clubhouse. Overall event coordinator, Ric de Vera welcomed all the participants and congratulated all the winners. This year’s tournament was hosted by the Australasian Golf Club of Melbourne. This year’s sponsors included Ayala Land, Travel Access and IDP Australia.

The 18th series of what is now considered the biggest single golfing event by Phil-Aussies in the Philippines will be held again in Manila in February/March 2012. It will be hosted by Filcom Sports Club of ACT headed by Ariel Pattugalan, who promised to bring the biggest contingent from



Print pagePDF pageEmail page
Thanks for rating this! Now tell the world how you feel through social media. .
How does this post make you feel?
  • Excited
  • Happy
  • Amused
  • Bored
  • Sad
  • Angry